Shutesbury — Villages
Extracted from "History of the Connecticut Valley in Massachusetts, Volume II," by Louis H. Everts, 1879.
is located upon an eminence, whence a charming view of the surrounding hills and valleys is obtained, and contains a collection of thirty or forty dwellings, two churches, the town-hall, one store, a school, and a hotel. It is an attractive place in the summer, when the presence of pleasure-seeking visitors gives it a gay and lively aspect.
so called from Jonas Lock, the proprietor of the first grist-mill there, in 1754, is in the. northwest, close to the Wendell line, and near a sheet of water called Lock's Pond. The settlement is small, and is made up of farmers and saw-mill employes.