Rowe — Civil Government

Extracted from "History of the Connecticut Valley in Massachusetts, Volume II," by Louis H. Everts, 1879.

      The warrant for the first town-meeting was issued March 25, 1785, by Samuel Taylor, of Buckland, and was directed to Ambrose Potter, "one of the Principle Inhabitants of a Plantation called Myrifield, in said county of Hampshire, lately incorporated into a Town by the name of Rowe by an Act of the General Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts." The inhabitants were "to assemble at the meeting-house on Wednesday, the 30th of March instant."
      In pursuance of this warrant, the inhabitants assembled and chose Nathan Taylor town clerk, who was duly sworn by Justice Taylor, after which Benjamin Brown was chosen moderator for the remainder of the meeting.

      "Voted Deacon Jonas Gleason Treasurer.
      "Voted Capt. William Taylor, Moses Langdon, Moses Streeter Selectmen.
      "Voted Nathan Foster, Benj. Brown, and Ambrose Potter Assessors.
      "Voted Archibald Thomas Constable.
      "Voted Nathan Fester and Benjamin Shumway Wardens.
      "Voted Jude Foster and Moses Streeter Tythingmen.
      "Voted Eldad Corbet, Daniel Coons, Mathew Barr, Abner Chapin, and Ambrose. Potter Highway Surveyors.
      "Voted Capt. Mathew Barr Sealer of Leather.
      "Voted John Merrill and Daniel Gleason Hog-reeves.
      "Voted to adjourn this meeting to Monday, the fourth day of April next, at nine o'clock in the forenoon, at Landlord Potter's."

These pages are © Laurel O'Donnell, 2005, all rights reserved
and cannot be reproduced in any format without permission
This page was last updated on
01 Ju1 2005