Monroe — Civil Organization

Extracted from "History of the Connecticut Valley in Massachusetts, Volume II," by Louis H. Everts, 1879.

      Under the act incorporating Monroe, the warrant to call the first town-meeting was issued to Martin Ballou by Jesse King, a justice of the peace in Berkshire County. The voters were directed to assemble at the house of Martin Ballou, April 4, 1822, to elect officers and transact such town business as the welfare of the new town demanded.
      At the stated time Rev. David Ballou was chosen moderator, and the following officers elected:
      Martin Ballou, Town Clerk; Nathan Ballou, Maturin Ballou, and David Caneday, Selectmen; Martin Ballou, Hosea F. Ballou, Asa Bullock, Assessors; Martin Ballou Treasurer; David Caneday, Collector and Constable.

These pages are © Laurel O'Donnell, 2005, all rights reserved
and cannot be reproduced in any format without permission
This page was last updated on
01 Ju1 2005