Leverett — Villages
Extracted from "History of the Connecticut Valley in Massachusetts, Volume II," by Louis H. Everts, 1879.
The villages in the town are three in number, Leverett Centre, North Leverett, and East Leverett, the first two only being post-offices.
the scene of the first settlement of importance, is a station on the New London and Northern Railroad, although about a mile distant from the depot. The village contains, besides a small collection of houses, a post-office, a church, the townhall, one store, and the New England Box Company's factory.
on Saw-mill River, near the Montague line, contains a church, two stores, a post-office, two factories, saw-mills, etc. Although the village has suffered a decline through the loss, by withdrawal lately, of some of her manufacturing industries, it is a moderately prosperous community, and its people thriving and industrious.
EAST LEVERETT is likewise devoted somewhat to manufacture, and boasts the most extensive saw-mill in the town, two factories, one store, and minor business interests.
There is a small settlement on the line of the New London and Northern Railroad, about a mile west of Leverett Centre. This locality is called LONG PLAIN, where there are a railway-station, a store, and about a dozen houses. Here also is one of the oldest cemeteries in the town. The earliest settlers concentrated in this region, as the land is generally more productive than that of any other portion of Leverett.
These pages are © Laurel O'Donnell, 2005, all rights reserved
and cannot be reproduced in any format without permission
This page was last updated on
26 Jun 2005